Rajasthan Polls: Notable faces makes shift after denied a ticket by their party

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1168037199767457792 Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

With the intense heat of polls in Rajasthan, both BJP and Congress are leaving no stone unturned to reach the magic number in the state having 200 seats in its assembly. Both the parties are using every feedback, formula and caste-ridden calculation to turn the table against their opponents in the upcoming assembly polls of the state.

The polls for the 200-seat state is scheduled to take place on December 7 along with Telangana State in a single phase of voting, while the counting will take place on December 11.

With both parties are not taking any chances and looking for a perfect combination with regard to win-ability, caste calculations, and feedbacks of booth level teams. During this crucial phase of ticket distributions, many prominent faces in the state from both the national parties choose to change their loyalties when denied a ticket by their own party.

Among the big faces that left the ruling party is, former MLA Manvendra Singh, sensing an opportunity in the rival party, Singh joined Congress in October and has fielded against the sitting CM Vasundhara Raje from Jhalrapatan seat.

While BJP MP from Dausa Harish Chandra Meena, whose brother is a Congress MP, has been fielded from the Deoli-Uniara. Other prominent face includes Naguar MLA Habib ur Rehman has been fielded from Nagaur. Rehman earlier left Congress in 2008 and joined BJP.

While Congress leaders who choose to make a shift from their camp includes, Ashok Sharma, District President of Dholpur and son of Congress Stalwart Banwari Lal Sharma. Sharma quits Congress and joined the BJP and is contesting from Dholpur. The Congress has nominated Ashok Sharma from Rajakheda.

Similarly, Abhinesh Mehrishi joined the BJP just a couple of days ahead of the declaration of the first list. Mehrishi had contested the 2008 assembly elections on a Congress ticket from Ratangarh and lost. He later fought the 2014 Lok Sabha polls on a BSP ticket and again lost. He has been fielded from Ratangarh, where cabinet minister Rajkumar Rinwa’s ticket was cut. Rinwa resigned and said he would contest as an independent.

Similarly, Congress leader Ram Kishore Saini who joined the BJP on Friday was declared the party candidate from Bandikui in the third list. Saini had contested from the BJP in 1990, 1993 and 1998 State Assembly Elections. He had joined the Congress in 2013 but decided to return to BJP this time.

Mahesh Pratap Singh also joined the BJP. Singh, who returned to the BJP after 13 years, has been fielded from Nathdwara. Independent MLA Rajkumar Sharma returns to his party, he has quit the party in 2013 before the assembly polls and contested independently.

Mamata Sharma, an old Congress loyalist, a former MLA, and former NCW Chairperson during UPA regime also turncoats after being denied a ticket from Bundi. Former Congress MP and Ex-Kota royal Ijyaraj Singh too turned too BJP after he was denied a ticket.

BJP spokesperson said that we have given tickets to the candidate based upon the feedback we received from the local and booth level workers. If we feel that an individual is strong on a particular seat and wish to join BJP, we have given him/her a chance.

While Congress State Spokesperson said ‘All the decision have been taken after taking the ground team into the consensus and keeping in mind the pattern of local politics’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

PM Modi urges diaspora to help boost tourism

Houston, Sep 23 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged Indian Americans to help boost tourism in India by bringing...

‘Majama che, sob khub bhalo’: PM Modi says at ‘Howdy Modi’

Houston, Sep 23 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi, addressing a crowd of 50,000 cheering Indian Americans, said the answer to the question 'Howdy Modi'...

PM Modi leaves for New York after Howdy Modi event

Houston, Sep 23 (IANS) After the hugely successful 'Howdy Modi' event in Houston that saw US President Donald Trump share the stage with him,...

Will sit down with President Trump for positive deals: PM Modi

Houston, Sep 23 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi pitched India as an attractive investment destination and said that with the "economic miracle" being wrought...

No plans to meet with Rouhani at UN: Trump

Washington, Sep 23 (IANS) President Donald Trump said Sunday that he had no plans to meet with Iranian President Hassan Rouhani during the UN...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This