Eight new parties geared to contest the upcoming assembly polls in Rajasthan

image for representation

In about a period of just three months, eight new political parties have emerged in Rajasthan and are ready to contest the upcoming assembly election as well. The parties have got themselves registered in the state between June and September this year.

One such party is Bharat Vahini Party (BVP) which is founded by rebel BJP leader Ghanshyam Tiwari. He is all ready to set his foot in the election fight and its party workers are regularly holding meeting in various wards of the city. Tiwari was a prominent BJP leader who parted ways with the BJP in June and soon after formed his own party in August.

Some other parties which have got themselves registered are Sarv Shakti Dal, Bhartiya Jan Satta Party, Abhinav Rajasthan, Rajasthan Janta Party, Khushal Kisan Party, Rashtriya Atulya Yuva Party and Green Party of India. The election commission issued the data through an order on October 15. As per ECI report, between June 20, 2018 to August 3, 2018, the five parties that have been registered are Bhartiya Jan Satta Party (Sikar), Savashakti Dal (Jaipur), Abhinav Rajasthan Party (Nagaur), Bharat Vahini Party (Jaipur) and Panch Party (Karauli).

In the 2008 assembly elections 42 parties, including eight state-level parties, fielded 129 candidates while in 2013 Assembly election the number of parties increased to 56, including 10 state-level parties, which fielded 258 candidates. They won four seats and received 4.95% votes in 2008 and interestingly increased to 6.99% in 2013 elections.

However, the two big parties in the state, Congress and BJP seemed to be not affected by the emergence of smaller parties. The state is slated to go to polls on December 7.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here