The Indian Wire » News » Everything You Need To Know About: Haryana Assembly Polls 2019
News Politics

Everything You Need To Know About: Haryana Assembly Polls 2019

Haryana state will go to polls for its 90 assembly seats on October 21. As per the notification of Election Commission of India, the schedule for the forthcoming elections is given below-

Important Dates for Haryana Polls-

  • The detailed notification will be issued on September 27.
  • The filing of nominations will begin from September 27 to October 4.
  • Scrutiny of applications will be done on October 5.
  • Nominations withdrawal can be done till October 7.
  • Haryana Polls will take place on October 21.
  • Counting of votes will be done on October 24.

The elections will be held in a single-phase. The elections have been necessitated as the five-year term of Manohar Lal Khattar‘s government is set to end on November 2.

Number speaks

  • Total no. of candidates– 1168 individuals
  • Total no. of Voters– 1.83 crores (including 1.07 Lakh service voters)
  • Total no. of New voters– 3.64 lakh (those between the age of 18-19)
  • Total no. of Polling stations– 19,442 booths
  • Total no. of Polling stations in Urban areas– 13,931 booths
  • Total no. of Polling stations in Rural areas– 5,511 booths
  • Total no. of seats reserved for Scheduled castes– 17 seats
  • Total voter turnout in 2014 assembly polls– 76.5 percent

“Game-changers” in the Haryana’s electoral game

  • Bhupinder Singh Hooda
  • Randeep Singh Surjewala
  • Babita Phogat
  • Yogeshwar Dutt
  • Abhay Chautala
  • Dushyant Chautala
  • Kiran Chaudhary
  • Randeep Singh Surjewala
  • Manohar Lal Khattar

Interesting competition to look out for

In Adampur, BJP has fielded its celebrity star Sonali Phogat against MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi who is a Congress candidate.

In Kaithal, Congress Spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala is pitted against the BJP candidate, Lila Ram Gurjar. Indian National Lok Dal has selected Anil Tanwar as its candidate.

In Ellenabad, Indian National Lok Dal has fielded Abhay Chautala while BJP has announced the name of Pawan Beniwal. Bharat Singh Beniwal will fight on the Congress ticket.

In Badhra, Jannayak Janata Party has given a ticket to Naina Chautala. She will fight against Ranbir Singh Mahendra.

In Karnal, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has been fielded from the saffron party. He will be fighting for the second term. Congress has given a ticket to Tarlochan Singh while JJP has approved the candidature of Tej Bahadur Yadav.

In Panchkula, former Deputy Chief Minister Chander Mohan will fight against the BJP MLA Gyan Chand Gupta.

In Tosham, Congress MLA Kiran Chaudhary will be contesting against INLD’s Kamla Rani and BJP’s Shashiranjan Parmar.

In Garhi-Sampla-Kiloi, former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda is taking the reins of Congress party. He will be seen fighting against JJP’s Sandeep Hooda and BJP’s Satish Nandal.

In Uchana Kalan, former MP Dushyant Chautala will fight against BJP’s Prem Lata. Balaram Katwal will be fighting from the Congress side.

To access the Congress list, click here.

To access the BJP list, click here.

Distribution of 1168 candidates across the State

  • 36- Ambala
  • 58- Jhajjar
  • 57- Kaithal
  • 44- Sirsa
  • 66- Sirsa district
  • 118- Hisar
  • 46- Yamunanagar
  • 45- Mahendergarh
  • 27- Charkhi Dadri
  • 41- Rewari
  • 63- Jind
  • 24-Panchkula
  • 50- Fatehabad
  • 58- Rohtak
  • 40- Panipat
  • 35- Mewat
  • 72- Sonipat
  • 69- Faridabad
  • 71- Bhiwani
  • 59- Karnal
  • 54- Gurugram
  • 35- Palwal

2014 Haryana Elections

The last assembly elections in the state were held on 15 October 2014. The results were declared on 19 October. Bhartiya Janta Party had won the maximum number of seats. The saffron party had secured 47 seats out of the 90 assembly seat with 33.2 percent vote-share. Indian National Lok Dal bagged the second-biggest strength with 19 seats.

There were a total of 16,244 polling booths in the elections.

ALSO READ: Haryana elections: Chief Election Commissioner of India ready to conduct a two-day visit to assess poll preparation

About the author

Saurabh Parmar

Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!