The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Facing EC Ban for 72 hours, UP CM Yogi Adityanath to visit Ayodhya
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Facing EC Ban for 72 hours, UP CM Yogi Adityanath to visit Ayodhya


Facing ban from Poll Commission for 72 hours from campaigning, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will visit Ayodhya on Wednesday. Bharatiya Janata Party Star Campaigner will visit Ram Lalla temple and Hanuman Garhi temple of the town.

As a part of his visit on Wednesday, Chief Minister will also go to Devipatan, a temple of goddess Durga in Balrampur district where he would stay the night, said sources familiar with the schedule of the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister.

Earlier, on Tuesday, Yogi Adityanath visited Hanuman Setu temple in Lucknow and recited the Hanuman Chalisa there. However, He on the occasion refused to respond to any media persons regarding queries and his reactions for EC Ban and addressed everyone with a smile.

The Chief Minister also did not participate in the Roadshow organized for the nomination filing of the Union Minister Rajnath Singh.

Earlier, the Poll Body on Monday bars Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath from election campaigning for 72 hours and 48 hours respectively. The Poll Panel said that a ban on both the Leaders will be in effect from 6 am tomorrow (Tuesday).

The Election Commission imposed a ban for violating the Model Code of Conduct by making an objectionable and controversial statement in the poll rally.

Uttar Chief Minister and BJP Star Campaigner Yogi Adityanath had on April 9 made a controversial remark on Ali and Bajrangbali. Yogi while addressing a gathering in UP’s Meerut said ‘Congress and Mahagathbandhan have faith in Ali, then we have faith in Bajrangbali’.

Earlier, the Poll panel had issued a warning to UP CM Yogi Adityanath for politicizing the Indian Army by calling it ‘Modi ki Sena’.The EC has asked him to be more mindful of the instructions given by the EC and avoid any references to the defence forces during elections.

Apart from Yogi Adityanath, EC also put ban BJP nominee from Sultanpur Maneka Gandhi, Samajwadi Party’s Azam Khan and BSP Supremo Mayawati from Campaigning for varying hours.

General Elections have already started and 91 constituencies have voted on April 11. Uttar Pradesh will vote in all seven phases.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!