Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress’s Shakeel Ahmad resigns as Spokesperson to contest as Independent from Madhubani

Giving a jolt to Congress and creating a flutter in Bihar Politics, party leader Shakeel Ahmad on Monday resigned from the post of Senior Spokesperson of All India Congress Committee.

“As I have decided to file my nomination papers tomorrow from Madhubani Parliamentary Constituency in Bihar, I’m resigning from the post of Senior Spokesperson of AICC. I’m sending my resignation to Congress President Rahul Gandhi “, he tweeted on Monday.

However hours after the tweet he clarified that he has not resigned from the party but from the spokespersonship.

Shakeel Ahmad had decided to contest as an Independent candidate from Madhubani Lok Sabha Seat after his traditional seat of Madhubani went to UPA ally Vikassheel Insaan party under a poll pact of Mahagathbandhan.

Speaking following the resignation, Congress Leader said, ‘I will seek support from the party if party high-command would not extend the support, I’ll be in fray as an Independent.

Ahmad had in 1998 and 2004 won the Madhubani Lok Sabha Seat, however, In 2009 and 2014 he had to face defeat with BJP‘s Hukumadeo Narayan Yadav.

Mahagathabandhan in a run-up to the mega polls 2019 has allotted Madhubani Seat to VIP while BJP has named Hukumdeo Narayan’s son Ashok Yadav from the seat for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019.

Lok Sabha elections in Madhubani will be held on May 6 in the fifth phase. The last day to file the nomination is April 18.

Congress and RJD have forged an alliance in Bihar along with small allies like Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP, VIP and others. The Congress alliance in the state is taking on BJP and JDU alliance that also have LJP.

General Elections have already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Bihar’s 40 parliamentary seats will go to polls in seven phases starting from April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

The four seats of Bihar including Jamui voted on April 11 as part of Phase-I Voting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here