Ram Nath Kovind quashes petition seeking disqualification of 11 AAP leaders in “Office of Profit” case; CM Arvind Kejriwal expresses happiness

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Saurabh Parmar
Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development). A Writer by Profession. Administration Enthusiast by Passion. Altruist by Heart. That's enough about Me!

Offering a sigh of relief to 11 members of Aam Aadmi Party, President Ram Nath Kovind quashed the petition seeking their disqualification on Wednesday. The petition had called for the disqualification of 11 leaders of Aam Aadmi Party on the ground of holding the office of profit.

These eleven leaders of the AAP are the co-chairpersons in various District Disaster Management Authorities. The petition claimed that this post is the office of profit, therefore, these leaders need to be removed.

However, the President took a different stand on the issue and said that the office of co-chairperson of a District Disaster Management Authority does not attract disqualification. Ram Nath Kovind expressed his opinion on the advice of the Election Commission of India. The post was not considered as the office of profit as it offers no remuneration by way of salary or allowance.

The leaders who were being under the examination were-

  1. Dutt Sharma (MLA from Ghonda)
  2. Rajesh Gupta (MLA from Wazirpur)
  3. Sarita Singh (MLA from Rohtash Nagar)
  4. Dinesh Mohania (MLA from Sangam Vihar)
  5. Praveen Kumar (MLA from Jangpura)
  6. Pawan Kumar Sharma (MLA from Adarsh Nagar)
  7. Jarnail Singh (MLA from Tilak Nagar)
  8. Amanatullah Khan (MLA from Okhla)
  9. Kailash Gehlot (MLA from Najafgarh)
  10. Sanjeev Jha (MLA from Burari)
  11. Nitin Tyagi (MLA from Laxmi Nagar)

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal also took to Twitter to express his happiness with the decision. He wrote, “Ultimately, Truth prevails“.

Office of Profit

Any government office which has the capacity to offer any kind of benefits through it will be termed as an “office of profit”. And if any MP or MLA happens to be on this post, then he/she will be disqualified.

The detailed provision of this issue has been covered under Article 102 and Article 191 of the Indian Consitution.

ALSO READ: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal launches “AK” app; party plans to counter fake propaganda with mobile app


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Apple is making Parental Control more Strict with new iOS update

Apple released its biggest OS update with iOS 13 in September. The new OS fixed some old features and...

Bhumi Pednekar reveals details about her next film ‘Dolly Kitty Aur Woh Chamakte Sitare’

Actor Bhumi Pednekar has done a number of good as well as commercially successful films in her young career. Her last month’s release Bala...

Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai episode 488, written update, December 9: Kartik proposes to Naira

The episode of Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai begins as Kartik runs to find Naira, as she also sprints toward him. A romantic track...

‘Gully Boy’ sweeps it all at Star Screen Awards 2019

Sunday night turned out to be a big night for Zoya Akhtar and the team as Gully Boy won 11 titles at the Star...

No proposal under the consideration for the waiver for education loans: Nirmala Sitharaman

Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Finance Minister in the winter session of the Parliament on Monday said, there is no proposal under the consideration for the...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This