The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Poll Body warns Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi for ‘Modi Ki Sena’ Remark
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Poll Body warns Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi for ‘Modi Ki Sena’ Remark

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

The Election Commission of India issued a stern a warning to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Spokesperson Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi for using ‘Modi ki Sena’ and politicizing the Indian Army for political gains. The Poll Commission has directed the BJP spokesperson to refrain from politicizing the Army and to be more careful in future.

While the District Election Officer also issued a show notice BJP Leader for using Indian Army in a poll rally in UP’s Rampur. The ECI prima Facie believed that Naqvi, Minister of Minority Affairs, has violated the Model Code of Conduct.

The ECI order that issued warning to the Politician stated, ‘The Commission has again seen the video recording of Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi’s speech, and the Poll Body is convinced that the statement made by him is not in line with the spirit of the Commission’s multiple advisories to the political parties/campaigners/candidates”.

READ: Here is the list of Candidates announced by BJP-led NDA for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi while campaigning for BJP Rampur Nominee Jaya Prada made a remark. He while launching a scathing attack on the Opposition for questioning Balakot Air Strike said, ‘the problem is Congress, Samajwadi Party, and Bahujan Samaj Party started asking for proof of the air strikes carried out by ‘Modiji ki Sena’.

However, this is not the first time that BJP leader hit the headline for using Armed Forces in its Poll Campaign.

Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party Star Campaigner and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath made similar remarks. UP Chief Minister while speaking in a poll rally in Ghaziabad referred to the Indian Army as “Modiji ki Sena (Modi’s army)”. His remarks about the Indian Army had already triggered a big political controversy with the Poll Panel sought a detailed report following a strict warning.

It is noteworthy that, Poll Commission taking a strong cognizance early this week has bar four politicians from Campaigning for varying hours. Poll Commission bar BJP Leader Maneka Gandhi, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, BSP Supremo Mayawati and Samajwadi Party Leader Azam Khan.

General Elections have already begun and would spread across all seven phases from April 11 to May 19. 80 seats of the state will go to polls in all seven phases starting from April 11 till May 19. The Lok Sabha Seats of – Gautam Budh Nagar, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Kairana, Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat and Bijnor have already voted on April 11. While other Others 8 seats of the state has voted on April 18 as a part of the Phase-II voting.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23, four days after the final round of Polling.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!