The Indian Wire » Politics » All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen announces second list of candidates for Maharashtra polls

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen announces second list of candidates for Maharashtra polls


AIMIM (All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen) released the second list of candidates for upcoming Maharashtra polls.

Farooq Maqbool Shabdi from Solapur Central, Sufiya Toufiq Shaikh from Solapur South, Advocate Shankar Bhagwan Sargar from Sangola, and Hina Shafique Momin from Pune Cantonment have been selected to contest the polls.

Earlier, Maharashtra president Syed Imtiaz Jaleel had released the list of first candidates on September 10. Daniel Ramesh Landge from Vadgaonsheri in Pune, Mufti Mohammed Ismail Abdul Khaliq from Malegaon Central and Mohd. Feroz Khan from Nanded North was selected from the party’s side.

Previous collaboration attempts of AIMIM-

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen had also tired to work out with Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA). But the alliance could not be formed due to the issue of ‘seat-sharing’.

Details of Maharashtra Polls-

Maharashtra assembly polls are scheduled to be held on October 21. Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced the election dates on Saturday. Maharashtra state will go to polls alongside Haryana state on the same day.

It will be a single phased poll. Maharashtra will go to the polls for its 288 assembly seats. The five-year term of the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra is set to expire on the 9th November. Filing of nominations will begin from September 27 to October 4.

Things to look out for in upcoming Maharashtra Polls-

A coalition of Congress party and NCP has also decided to contest about 123-125 seats each respectively. State Congress President Balasaheb Thorat announced to come up with a list of 50 candidates on September 20.

Talks of BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is also going on. Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray had said that the seat formula has been finalized and the decision will come out soon.

Previous Maharashtra Elections-

2014 elections in Maharashtra were held on 15 October 2014, in a single phase. The result was announced on 19 October. Bhartiya Janta party secured the power in the state and Devendra Fadnavis was made the Chief Minister.

Top 3 scorers were-

  1. BJP– 122 seats with 31.15% seat-share
  2. Shiv Sena– 63 seats with 19.80% seat-share
  3. Indian National Congress– 42 seats with 18.10% seat-share

ALSO READ: Devendra Fadnavis chairs Cabinet meeting, announces financial aid of Rs. 6813 crore for flood-hit areas

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!