Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP writes to EC in Karnataka; alleges Mass ‘Indiscriminate’ Voters Deletion

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Alleging mass indiscriminate voters deletion, Bharatiya Janata Party Karnataka State Unit on Thursday knocked the Poll Commission with a letter and slammed the ruling Congress-JD(S) Coalition for the same. In a letter sent to Poll Body, The Bharatiya Janata Party alleged names are deleted from the voter list without any reason.

The Letter reads, ‘The officials have purposefully and deliberately deleted names without any reason, just to render undue official favour to the ruling coalition party.”

Saffron party who is seeking to retain its power at Centre further alleged that many officers in the state are working on the behest of the ruling Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) Coalition.

Demanding strict action against those who are responsible for mass voter deletion, the party claimed the names have been removed from the list without any reason. The party further claimed names have deleted even the voters have been living in the same address.

The Letter further claimed that if actions won’t be taken against the officials responsible for it, we can’t expect national elections to be conducted in a fair and free manner. The State Opposition party further alleged that the party has registered a similar complaint to the Poll Commission during the State Polls that held last year.

The Letter reads, ‘Even though during the last Vidhan Sabha election also such deletion has taken place and the same was reported to the Commission, the Election Commission has not taken any stringent action against such officials. This is the only reason which has boosted the concerned biased officials to further work as agents of ruling coalition party to further delete the names of voters’.

READ: Here is the list of candidates announced by BJP-led NDA For Lok Sabha Polls 

Demanding a repolling on the places where mass voter deletion is reported, The party further said it will go to court to redress the issue.

14 Lok Sabha Seat of the state voted on April 18 in Phase-II of Polling. Karnataka has a total of 28 parliamentary seats and remaining 14 seats will go to polls on April 23.

Congress and JD(S) in a run-up to the general elections have forged an alliance with 20:8 seat agreement. BJP going all alone in the state that sends 28 parliamentarians to the Lok Sabha.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. General Elections have already begun on April 11 and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP banking on the ‘Modi Wave’ bagged 17 seats while Congress had won 9 seats. JD(S) who has contested 25 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 General Elections won only two seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Police officer’s stolen car found, 2 murder files missing

By Sanjeev Kumar Singh ChauhanNew Delhi, Nov 15 (IANS) The personal car of a police inspector that was stolen...

India’s forex reserves rise by $1.71 bn to over $447 bn

Mumbai, Nov 15 (IANS) India's foreign exchange reserves rose by $1.71 billion during the week ended November 8, official data showed on Friday.According to...

Andhra opposes national status to Telangana project

Amaravati, Nov 15 (IANS) Five months after attending as a special guest the inauguration of Telangana's massive lift irrigation project Kaleshwaram, Andhra Pradesh Chief...

CBI raids Amnesty India offices on MHA complaint (2nd Lead)

Bengaluru/New Delhi, Nov 15 (IANS) The Central Bureau of Investigation on Friday raided human rights group Amnesty India's offices in Bengaluru and Delhi after...

Tech CFOs bat for digitising financial functions

Bengaluru, Nov 15 (IANS) Indian corporate CFOs on Friday batted for companies to digitise their financial functions at the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This