The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP Chief Amit Shah to hold massive roadshow in Kolkata North
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP Chief Amit Shah to hold massive roadshow in Kolkata North

As the voting for the last phases of elections is near, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Amit Shah intensifying its hunt to retain power at Centre will hold a massive roadshow in Kolkata North Lok Sabha seat of the West Bengal to seek votes for his party candidate. As scheduled, BJP Chief is slated to hold a roadshow from Shahid Minar to Swami Vivekanand House.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President will seek votes for Rahul Sinha. Sinha is pitched against sitting MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay of Trinamool Congress. While Congress and CPI-M have named Syed Shahid Imam and Kaninika Bose Ghosh respectively.

The seat is currently held by TMC sitting MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay who had in 2014 national polls defeated Rahul Sinha with almost 1 Lakh votes.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: ‘Will win over 23 seats in West Bengal’, says Amit Shah in Joynagar Rally

Earlier on Monday, a controversy erupted after BJP Amit Shah’s rally was cancelled over denial of permission. However, he addressed a rally in Joynagar later in the day where he slammed Mamata Banerjee west Bengal government.

Shah, in a run-up to the national polls also accused Banerjee of depriving Bengal’s people of the benefits of central welfare schemes rolled out by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Later in the day, A Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) delegation approached the Election Commission (EC) seeking strong action against the district magistrate of South 24 Parganas for sabotaging their party’s rallies and also accused the CEO office of favouring Trinamool.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. 59 seats under Phase-VI voted on May 12. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies will be held in last and seventh phase slated for May 19.

Polling in West Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha Seat is being spread on all seven phases. 9 Lok Sabha seats of the state will go to polls in the last phase of the election slated for May 19.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!