BJP appoints Jaitley, Rajnath, Thawarchand as Observers to overlook election of legislature leaders in 3 States

The Bhartiya Janta Party parliamentary board that met on Thursday appointed central observers in the states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh which went for Polls in December 2018.

Saffron Party appointed Central Observers including Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, and Thawarchand Gehlot, for the election of leaders of its legislature party in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh.

BJP Parliamentary Board Secretary JP Nadda said as quoted by News Agency ANI, “Observers for the elections of state leadership in 3 states were decided. Thawar Chand Gehlot & Anil Jain in Chhattisgarh, Rajnath Singh & Vinay Sahasrabuddhe in MP, Arun Jaitley and Avinash Rai Khanna in Rajasthan will go as observers.”

He further told Media after the meeting that Leader of Opposition in all three states will only be decided after taking all MLAs in consultation. He said, “Dates for the meeting will be decided after discussions with the state units, Leader of Opposition will be chosen in consultation with the MLAs”.

The BJP insiders claimed that leadership may go for new faces in some of these states but former chief ministers – Vasundhara Raje, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and Raman Singh –  will continue to play a key role as the party works to change its fortunes there during the Lok Sabha polls, which are expected to be over by May 2019.

According to Reports, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who had an unbeaten five terms as Vidisha MP before being made CM in 2003, is the top nominee to contest the Lok Sabha from Vidisha, a seat that BJP has not lost since 1989. Shivraj’s name came into consideration after sitting MP from Vidisha, Sushma Swaraj had on November 20 said that she will not contest the General Elections 2019 citing her health issues.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here