The Indian Wire » Politics » BJP picks former MLA Sidharth Kuncalienker for Panaji By-polls; says ‘No’ to Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal
News Politics

BJP picks former MLA Sidharth Kuncalienker for Panaji By-polls; says ‘No’ to Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday named Sidharth Kuncalienker as its candidate for by-polls in Panaji Assembly seat that hat fell vacant after the death of former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.

With this, The ruling party denied ticket to former chief minister Manohar Parrikar’s son Utpal Parrikar who was among those shortlisted by the party last week for the assembly seat.

Earlier, on Wednesday (Last Week), BJP Goa Chief Vinay Tendulkar who held discussion with other party leaders have finalized two names of the by-polls- picking Utpal Parrikar, name of the elder son of Late Goa CM Manohar Parrikar among nominees.

READ: BJP shortlists two names for Panaji Assembly By-election; picks Manohar parrikar’s son among probables

Both the names were sent to BJP Parliamentary Board who picked Sidharth Kuncalienker for the seat, which he had in past won twice. Siddhart Kunkolienkar first won the Panaji seat during the 2015 by-election. He later won the seat in 2017 State Polls but later had to vacate to the seat to accommodate Manohar Parrikar in the seat.

‘From day one I was saying that I’ll work for the candidate decided by the party. My name was sent to central leadership because of some workers’, said Utpal Parrikar after the named Siddharth for the by-polls.

He added, ‘The assembly seat was held by my father (Manohar Parrikar) for over 25 years, so its important to retain the seat. My party has named Sidharth Kuncalienker, I would be doing whatever necessary, whatever campaigning my party asks, so that we can retain it comfortably’.

Late Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar had represented the seat many times since 1994. He had last won an election from the seat was in 2017 by-polls. He had defeated Girish Chodankar of Congress with a margin of 4 thousand votes.

The opposition Congress has already announced former state minister Atanasio Monserratte as its candidate for the Panaji Assembly seat. The by-polls in the seats is slated for May 19, and the May 1 is the last date to file nominations.

The party has also named two candidates for by-polls in Karnataka. The party named Avinash Yadav from Chincholi & SI Chikkanagowdar from Kundgol.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!