EC announces date for By-polls for 2 Rajya Sabha seats in UP, Rajasthan; schedule for legislative Council of AP, Telangana

The Election Commission of India, on Thursday, announced the dates for holding by-polls in two Rajya Sabha Seat – one from Uttar Pradesh and another one from Rajasthan. According to the polls office, the voting to elect a new Parliamentarian for the Upper House in both the state will be held on August 26.

The Poll Commission further added that the counting of votes for the by-polls will be done soon after the voting on August 26.

The Rajya Sabha Seat in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after sitting MP from Samajwadi Party Neeraj Shekhar tendered his resignation from the house and joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

READ: Day after resigning from Rajya Sabha, Samajwadi Party Leader Neeraj Shekhar joins BJP

Former Samajwadi Party Rajya Sabha MP Neeraj Shekhar, son of former Prime Minister and socialist leader Chandra Shekhar, was elected to the Rajya Sabha after he unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha Polls 2014 from Ballia Parliamentary Seat. Shekhar’s term in the Upper House was slated to end in November, next year.

While in Rajasthan, the vacancy in the Upper House was created after the death of BJP MP Madan Lal Saini. Saini’s term in the Upper House was slated to end in 2024.

In the meantime, newly appointed BJP Uttar Pradesh Chief Swatantra Dev Singh asserted confidence of scoring good in the Rajya Sabha by-polls slated for August 26. Looking at the number that BJP has in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, it looks it will be an uphill task for the saffron party to get another berth in the Upper House.

He also asserted that his party will do well in Zila Panchayat Polls and By-polls to 11 Assembly Seats of the state. Zila Panchayat Polls are slated to be held in 2020, next year. The by-polls in 11 assembly seats were necessitated after the sitting lawmakers won the Lok Sabha Polls.

The Assembly constituencies that fell vacant are, Manikpur, Iglas (SC), Zaidpur (SC), Gangoh, Balha (SC), Rampur, Jalalpur, Pratapgarh, Lucknow Cantonment, Govindnagar and Tundla (SC).

While, the poll Commission also announced the dates for by-polls to the legislative councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana by MLAs of the Assemblies of both the Houses.

The by-elections will be held in three seats of Andhra Pradesh and a lone seat of Telangana. The polling will be done on August 26 and the counting of votes will be done on the same day.

The seats in Andhra Pradesh fell vacant after three MLCs tendered their resignation while in Telangana, MLC was disqualified.

Here’s the schedule for the by-elections to the legislative councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. 




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here