EC seeks explanation from 3 media houses for telecasting ‘surveys’ amid ongoing national polls

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Election Commission of India on Tuesday sought an explanation from at least 3 media houses for displaying poll surveys following complaints received against them. The Poll Body in a statement stated that it has received complaints against three media groups for displaying prediction polls amidst the ongoing national elections 2019.

EC in the notice to media group said to furnish response and said why action should not be initiated against them for violating the certain provisions of the Section 126A of
Representation of People Act.

The Poll Commission has asked the media groups to furnish explanations within 48 hours. It is been alleged that these media groups have broadcasted the poll surveys amidst the ongoing national polls 2019.

“Section 126 of the Representation of the People, 1951, prohibits displaying any election matter by means, inter alia, of television or similar apparatus, during the period of 48 hours before the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in a constituency.”

Section 126 of the Representation of the people, 1951, also prohibits no one is allowed to conduct or broadcast any exit poll in any kind of media be it print/electronic or propagate in any manner.

In the case of national elections, the period starts from the beginning of poll on the First day till the half an hour after the closing of the poll in all states of the country. All media houses are only allowed to telecast the exit polls after 6:30 pm on May 19.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies of 11 stated and UTs will be held in the last and seventh phase on May 19.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Restored Jayakar Bungalow in NFAI Pune inaugurated

Pune, Sep 15 (IANS) Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar on Sunday inaugurated the newly renovated heritage building...

Yogi, ministers attend session on leadership at IIM-Lucknow

Lucknow, Sep 15 (IANS) For the second consecutive Sunday, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, along with other cabinet ministers and IAS officers at...

Modi, Trump at Houston will be all about quid pro quo (Guest Column)

By Robinder Nath SachdevThe ducks seem to be lining up for President Donald Trump to join Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the Indian-American community...

Farmer electrocuted in UP, wife critical

Lucknow, Sep 15 (IANS) A farmer was electrocuted to death while his wife sustained serious injuries in Uttar Pradesh's Chitrakoot district when they came...

Farmers’ woes grow despite hike in MSP

New Delhi, Sep 15 (IANS) While the minimum support price (MSP) set by the government has failed to benefit a large section of farmers,...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This