PDP Chief Mehboob Mufti to Contest Lok Sabha Polls from Anantnag; leaves 2 seats

bitcoin trading

People’s Democratic Party Chief and Former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir Mehboob Mufti on Saturday said that she will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls 2019 from Anantnag Lok Sabha Seat. Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister said that her party will leave the seats of Jammu and Udhampur Seats to avoid division of secular votes in the upcoming polls.

However, she added that the party is yet to take a call on Ladakh parliamentary Seat while announcing the party will have its candidates on Baramulla and Srinagar apart from Anantnag.

She further said that Aga Mohsin will be party’s Candidate in the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat. Mohsin will have to face National Conference Chief Farooq Abdullah on the Srinagar Parliamentary Seat.

READ: Check Out Full List of BJP Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Anantnag Parliamentary is one of the longest vacant seats that was left by Former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti in 2016 when she joined hands with BJP to form the next government in the valley.

PDP’s announcement came a day after Congress finalizes alliance terms with National Conference for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019. Under the poll pact, the National Conference will not field its candidates from Jammu and Udhampur seats.

READ: Check Out full list of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

The Congress in the meanwhile has announced Vikramaditya Singh from Udhampur, Raman Bhalla from Jammu and Haji Farooq Mir from Baramulla. The Party has announced not to file candidate on Srinagar and left for NC as part of its friendly tie-up.

Lok Sabha Polls are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Polls in Jammu and Kashmir’ Six Seats will take place in five phases. While Polling in Anantnag Parliamentary Seat will take place in three phases – April 23, April 29 and May 6.

While Baramulla and Jammu constituencies will go to polls in the first phase while Srinagar and Udhampur constituencies will go to polls in the second phase.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here