Move over IPL, the Motorsports League is here!

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...

In a surprising announcement, a new motorsports league, the X1 Racing League, is set to make its debut in India.

The city-based competition has been launched by racing drivers themselves – Armaan Ebrahim, who has competed in the A1 Grand Prix, along with podium finishes in many other championships, and Aditya Patel, who has raced for Audi India Motorsport and who memorably lost out on winning the Blancpain GT Series Asia 2017 by a single point. Their aims for this new racing league make for interesting reading.

Each team (that is, each city’s team) will have two drivers, as is usual practice in motorsport events. What is unusual however is, making it mandatory for each team to have one female driver, one Indian international (AKA established) driver and one Indian domestic (AKA upcoming driver), apart from one foreign driver. Also, while the series will run through the whole year, the ‘main event’ will be held over four weeks. As of now, the plan is to have eight teams, and have races over the weekend; the races themselves will be held in race tracks (like the Buddh International Circuit) and on street circuits (maybe the Western Express Highway? No one knows where)
This event has also received the support of the body governing motorsports in India, the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI). It is expected to kick off in 2019.

Motorsports & India

India has had a sort of love-hate relationship with motorsports. While many have attempted to make their mark in the various competitions involved, motorsports burst into the public imagination when Narain Kartikeyan signed up for team Jordan in the Formula 1 championship. However, the team being one of the last placed ones, he was unable to make much of an impact; he had to settle for being a test driver in the 2006 and 2007 seasons. He was later joined by Karun Chandok, who competed for HRT Racing, again one of the last placed teams, in 2010. Thus, the first Formula 1 race in India & South Asia (at the Buddh International Circuit, Uttar Pradesh) saw 2 Indian drivers in separate teams, though only Narain Kartikeyan competed on raceday.

Strangely, none of them were a part of the Indian team on the grid. In 2007, a consortium led by Vijay Mallya & another Dutch businessman bought a team, and renamed it Force India. Of course, with the financial troubles he faced, Mr. Mallya sold his stake to Sahara in 2011. In terms of performances, Force India is now firmly a mid-level team, making its way from the bottom to finishing between 4th & 6th position in the last 6 seasons.

In other competitions, Mahindra entered motorcycle racing in the 125cc category of Moto3 in 2011, and saw some creeditable performances throughout; 2017 was its last season, with Mahindra now shifting its focus to Formula E, a competition for electric race cars.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

SC declines to stay NGT ban on RO Filters

New Delhi, Nov 22 (IANS) The Supreme Court has declined to interfere with the National Green Tribunal (NGT) order...

UK election: Tories plan stamp duty hike on non-UK residents

London, Nov 22 (IANS) Foreigners buying properties in England will be forced to pay three per cent more in stamp duty than the UK...

Indian striker Bala Devi begins trial with Rangers FC

Glasgow, Nov 22 (IANS) Bengaluru FC, through their partnership with Scottish Premier League side Rangers FC, have facilitated a week-long trial for Indian women's...

Break silence on Electoral Bonds: Cong to PM

New Delhi, Nov 22 (IANS) The Congress on Friday staged protests in Parliament over the electoral bonds calling it a "scam"...

China revises its 2018 GDP up 2.1%

Beijing, Nov 22 (IANS) China on Friday raised its GDP for 2018 to 91.93 trillion yuan ($13.08 trillion), 2.1 per cent more than...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This