Fri. Apr 19th, 2024
Official twitter handle of Ravindra JadejaOfficial twitter handle of Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja’s outstanding haul of seven wickets in the second innings made India win the second test match.

After winning the first test match, the Indian team was filled with hope and confidence to win the second one as well.

If India wins the four test matches series by 3-1 or 4-0, then they can qualify for the test finals.

The test finals will be played at the Oval, London from June 7th-11th.

Match Details

The second test was played in Delhi from February 17th-19th.

Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australia first innings

David Warner and Usman Khawaja opened the Innings for them.

They both gave a good start to the team when David lost his wicket.

After the fall of the first wicket, the Australian innings trembled a bit.

Usman and Peter handled the situation.

The knocks by both of them of 81 and 72 runs took Australia to a total of 263 runs.

Mohammad Shami took four wickets as Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took three wickets each.

India first Innings

Rohit Sharma opened the Innings alongside KL Rahul.

KL Rahul yet failed to score big runs as he lost his wicket.

The knocks by Virat of 44 runs and Axar Patel of 74 runs kept India in the game.

India lost all their wickets at the score of 262 runs.

Australia second Innings

The Australian team had the lead of just one run at the start of the second Innings.

Ravindra Jadeja started to take wickets from the start itself.

He didn’t let the openers settle down and score many runs.

One-by-one he kept on taking wickets as Ravichandran Ashwin also supported him.

As the match went on Jadeja took his five wickets haul.

In the end, in the second innings of Australia Jadeja took seven wickets and Ashwin took three wickets.

India needed to score 114 runs to win the match.

India second Innings

Rohit gave a firing start to the team to finish the match soon.

In the end, Cheteshwar Pujara and Srikar Bharat made India win the match by six wickets.

Ravindra Jadeja was chosen as the Player of the match for taking ten wickets in the match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *