Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Actor Sunny Deol joins BJP; likely to contest from Gurdaspur in Punjab

Actor Sunny Deol on Tuesday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in New Delhi in presence of Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal in the middle of ongoing national elections 2019. BJP in a run-up to the national elections is likely to name him from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Seat of Punjab.

Sunny’s Father Dharmendra had earlier in 2004 represented Bharatiya Janata Party from Bikaner Lok Sabha Seat. While Dharmendra’s wife and stepmother of Sunny Deol Hema Malini is a sitting MP from UP’s Mathura and seeking reelection in the national elections 2019.

Actor Vinod Khanna had represented Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Seat many times from 1998 to 2017. Khanna passed away in April 2017. Later in by-polls of 2017, Congress Sunil Jakhar defeated BJP’s Swaran Salaria.

Sunny Deol if announced by the party as its candidate for Gurdaspur will take on Congress Sunil Jarkhar, AAP’s Peter Masih and PDAs’ Lal Chand Kataruchak.

Bharatiya Janata Party in a run-up to the mega polls 2019 has forged an alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal. BJP has named Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar, while yet to announce its nominee for Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur – allotted to it in a poll pact.

BJP-SAD combine will take on Congress, Punjab Democratic Alliance comprising seven parties including one floated by Sukhpal Singh Khaira. While AAP has also named its candidates on more than 8 Lok Sabha Seats in the state.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. General Elections have already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting. Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here