The Indian Wire » Politics » AIADMK announces candidates for upcoming Tamil Nadu by-poll; DMK-Congress alliance to come up with names soon

AIADMK announces candidates for upcoming Tamil Nadu by-poll; DMK-Congress alliance to come up with names soon

For the upcoming by-polls in Tamil Nadu state, AIADMK (All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) party announced the name of two candidates today. The party’s decision was conveyed by party coordinator O Panneerselvam and joint-coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswami.

Tamil Nadu will go to polls on October 21 for three seats- Vikravandi, Nanguneri and Kamaraj Nagar (Puducherry Constituency) assembly seats. Counting of votes will take place on October 24. Nanguneri Assembly constituency fell vacant as the sitting Congress MLA H Vasanthakumar was elected to Lok Sabha. He is now an MP from the Kanyakumari constituency. In Vikravandi, bye-elections are being held due to the death of DMK MLA K Radhamani.

For the Vikravandi assembly seat, the party has fielded MR Muthamizhselvan who is the Panchayat union secretary in Kanai. While for the seat of Nanguneri assembly, Reddiarpatti V Narayanan has been chosen as the candidate. Reddiarpatti V Narayanan is the joint secretary of Tirunelveli rural district MGR Mandram.

Tamil Nadu will see elections along with 62 other seats across 18 states. The assembly elections of Maharashtra and Haryana will also happen on the same day.

Dates of the by-poll were announced by Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on previous Saturday.

TIW’s Take-

It has been reported that the Vikravandi seat will see a candidate from DMK-Congress alliance. While a Congress candidate from Nanguneri will contest the seat. In this case, the chances of Congress party becomes bright. It is also expected that the by-polls will be witnessing a stiff contest between the ruling AIADMK and DMK. The competition will be just among few competitors as many parties like Kamal Haasan‘s Makkal Needhi Maiam and TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam are not contesting this bye-elections.

Kamal Hassan has said that his main focus is on the 2021 elections. While TTV Dhinakaran iterated that his party will only contest after they are allocated with an official symbol from Election Commission of India.

About the author

Saurabh Parmar

Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!