Amit Shah, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Kanimozhi resign from Rajya Sabha after elected to Lok Sabha

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Amit Shah, its leader Ravi Shankar Prasad & DMK Leader Kanimozhi on Wednesday resigned as Rajya Sabha members. All the leaders in the recently held polls elected to 17th Lok Sabha from their respective seats.

As per the circular released by the Rajya Sabha, the leaders after electing to 17th Lok Sabha resigned as per Section 69 of the representation of the people Act, 1951.

BJP President Amit Shah who was in the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat has been elected as MP from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha Seat with a heavy margin of over 5 Lakh votes. He defeated Congress Nominee Dr. CJ Chavda in the recently held polls. Gandhi Nagar Lok Sabha Seat has been held by LK Advani for six times.

While Union Minister in the last government Ravi Shankar Prasad defeated Shatrughan Sinha of Congress from Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Seat. Prasad defeated Sinha with over 1 Lakh Votes. He was as MP in Rajya Sabha from Bihar.

M Kanimozhi, daughter of DMK Patriarch Karunanidhi, elected from Thoothukudi Parliamentary Seat in Tamil Nadu. She defeated Bharatiya Janata Party Candidate with over 3.47 Lakh votes.

All the leaders – Shah, Prasad and Kanimozhi – elected to Lok Sabha for the first time. They all made their deput in the electoral competition for the first time.

Apart from these three Rajya Sabha MPs, Smriti Irani, Rajya Member from Gujarat and now an elected MP from Congress Bastion Amethi, is also slated to resign from the Upper House.

Irani turn out to be a giant killer in the recently held national polls by defeating Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi from his stronghold Amethi by 55,000 votes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here