Lok Sabha Polls: CPI snubs Mahagathbandhan in Bihar; announces support to Shakeel Ahmed

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Communist of India (CPI) on Wednesday announced to support to rebel Congress candidate Shakeel Ahmad for Madhubani Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar. Stating the party’s first aim is to defeat Bharatiya Janata Party, CPI made the official announcement in a release.

CPI move to back Ahmed is seen as a big setback to the Mahagathbandhan. It is seen as in response to CPI demand turned down by RJD asking the Lalu Prasad Yadav’s party to not field its candidate from Begusarai – a seat from where former JNUSU President Kanhaiya Kumar is seeking a term.

Madhubani, earlier known as Jaynagar, an erstwhile bastion of the left was represented by Bhogendra Jha for four times in 1960s and 1970s.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress’s Shakeel Ahmad resigns as Spokesperson to contest as Independent from Madhubani

Earlier on 15 April, Giving a jolt to Congress and creating a flutter in Bihar Politics, party leader Shakeel Ahmad resigned from the post of Senior Spokesperson of All India Congress Committee to contest as an Independent.

Ahmad had in 1998 and 2004 won the Madhubani Lok Sabha Seat, however, In 2009 and 2014 he had to face defeat with BJP‘s Hukumadeo Narayan Yadav.

Mahagathabandhan in a run-up to the mega polls 2019 has allotted Madhubani Seat to Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) who has named Badrinath Purve as its Candidate. While BJP has named Hukumdeo Narayan’s son Ashok Yadav from the seat for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019.

Lok Sabha elections in Madhubani will be held on May 6 in the fifth phase. Bihar’s 40 parliamentary seats will go to polls in seven phases starting from April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

General Elections have already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Congress and RJD have forged an alliance in Bihar along with small allies like Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP, VIP and others. The Congress alliance in the state is taking on BJP and JDU alliance that also have LJP.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Pawar, Thackeray, Raut in midnight rendezvous

Mumbai, Nov 22 (IANS) Inching towards forming the Maharashtra government, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sharad Pawar had a...

165 in fray for Karnataka assembly by-elections

Bengaluru, Nov 21 (IANS) A total of 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women, are in the fray for the 15 Assembly by-elections...

Anand eyes London through Tata Steel Chess tournament

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand will have his eyes on London when he begins his campaign in the Tata Steel...

Several big names from Delhi in race for Goa DGP

New Delhi, Nov 21 (IANS) After the death of 1988 batch AGMUT cadre IPS officer Pranav Nanda, several big names from the IPS lobby...

Mamata nod to ministers’ public outbursts against me: Guv

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Facing a barrage of verbal counter-attacks from West Bengal ministers, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar on Thursday targeted Chief Minister Mamata Baenrjee,...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This