The Indian Wire » Politics » Elections 2019: Congress names 40 Star Campaigners for Punjab, Chandigarh; includes Udit Raj among others
News Politics

Elections 2019: Congress names 40 Star Campaigners for Punjab, Chandigarh; includes Udit Raj among others

Intensifying its hunt to make a comeback at the Centre, Congress on Tuesday released a list of 40-star Campaigners who will be the party’s face and will galvanize support for the party in Punjab in a run-up to the general elections 2019. The party in a letter to the election body has mentioned the names of 40 campaigners for the elections due for May 19, the last phase of polling.

The party in the list included its President Rahul GandhiSonia GandhiManmohan SinghPriyanka Gandhi, Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, Ghulam Nabi Azad, KC Venugopal, Harish Rawat, Ashok Gehlot, Bhupinder Singh Hooda, among others.

The party in its 40 name list also included Raj Babbar, Pawan Kumar Bansal, Manish Tewari, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Jaiveer Shergil.

The party has also named Former BJP MP Udit Raj who has joined Congress recently. Raj has been replaced by the Bharatiya Janata Party with Sufi Singer Hansraj Hans for mega polls 2019.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Denied Ticket by BJP; Sitting MP Udit Raj joins Congress in Delhi

Congress in the state is contesting on all 13 seats on its own. While Bharatiya Janata Party has forged an alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). The Congress party in a run-up to the national polls will take on BJP-SAD combine, AAP and an alliance of 7 parties who came together and formed a Punjab Democratic Alliance (PDA).

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. Phase-V is slated for May 6. Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats and Chandigarh’s lone seat will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!