Karnataka Congress holds party meeting for upcoming state by-polls; SG Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundu Rao and others decide on candidate selection


Ahead of the upcoming Karnataka by-polls, Congress party held a meeting of its leaders on Monday to discuss the strategy and candidates. The meeting saw the participation of eminent leaders from the state. Former Chief Minister SG Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundu Rao, BK Hariprasad, Rahman Khan, Eshwar Khandre, KH Muniyappa, Saleem Ahmad and MM Pallam Raju were present.

Karnataka state is set to go for by-polls for its 15 seats due to the disqualification of legislatures. The polls will be held on December 5 and results would be declared on December 9.

The assembly constituencies that will go to polls-

  1. Athani
  2. Kagwad
  3. Gokak
  4. Yellapur
  5. Hirekerur
  6. Ranibennur
  7. Vijayanagara
  8. Chikkaballapur
  9. KR Pura
  10. Yeshvanthapura
  11. Mahalakshmi
  12. Shivajinagar
  13. Hosakote
  14. Krishnarajpet
  15. Hunsur

Expressing view on the upcoming by-polls, Eshwar Khandre said, “We are ready to fight the by-polls. We have made all the arrangements. We have shortlisted the names of the probable candidates from the Congress party and those who defected from Congress party will be taught a lesson this time”.

The leader also slammed the BJP party for not delivering on its promises. He further said that the saffron party had formed the government, even when the people are against them.

Dinesh Gundu Rao expressed his optimism regarding the result and said, “I am 100 percent sure that the judgment will go in our favor.”He also added that the existing BS Yeddyurappa regime is “very weak” and a very “directionless government“.

The leader also slashed the ruling government for its failure in providing relief to the victims of the flood situation, there is no administration.

Important Dates and Figures-

  • The date for filing nominations is from November 11-18
  • Polling date has been set for December 5
  • Counting of votes will begin on November 9

A total of 37 lakh 50 thousand voters will participate in the by-polls that includes 19.12 lakh male voters and 18.37 lakh female voters.

According to the State Chief Election Commissioner, Sanjeev Kumar, a total of 4185 polling booths will be set up and a total of 22,958 polling personnel will be deployed for the smooth conduct of by-polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here