President Election sees 99 percent voter turnaround

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Kunwar Prithvi Singh Chauhan
Part time journalist, full-time observer. Editor-in-Chief at The Indian Wire. I cover updates related to business and startups.

The voting for president election got over yesterday, the first day of monsoon session. According to an estimate, the voting saw a turnaround of around 99% across the country. Both the houses of the parliament functioned only for paying obituary references and post that, the houses were adjourned for the day.

A majority of the parliamentarians cast their votes in the first half. Except for the Parliament members, the politicians who cast their votes from the Parliament included Amit Shah, who is an MLA from Gujarat. Around 54 MPs cast their votes from their state capitals.

Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Puducherry and Uttarakhand saw 100% voting. Out of 776 MLAs, 771 were eligible for voting. 4 seats, 2 each in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha are vacant at the moment.

Out of the casted votes, around 65% are rumoured to be in the favour of Ram Nath Kovind, whereas, the remaining will be with Meira Kumar. Ram Nath Kovind had the support of over 40 parties, whereas, Meira Kumar was supported by opposition camp of 17 parties.

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Washington to challenge plan to block stricter vehicle emission

Washington, Sep 19 (IANS) Governor Jay Inslee of the US state of Washington and Attorney General Bob Ferguson have...

Vicky Kaushal: I Will start shooting for ‘Takht’ in February

Mumbai, Sep 19 (IANS) Actor Vicky Kaushal has revealed that will start shooting for Karan Johar's ambitious period drama "Takht" next year in February."We...

Yogi completes mid-term, says challenges were opportunities (Lead)

Lucknow, Sep 19 (IANS) "In two and a half years, we have turned challenges into opportunities," said Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on...

Help make Kashmir a ‘paradise again’: PM (Lead)

Nashik (Maharashtra), Sep 19 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi said here on Thursday that the BJP government had kept its promise and integrated Jammu...

Sonakshi Sinha wants to be an ambassador of this brand

Mumbai, Sep 19 (IANS) Actress Sonakshi Sinha has fronted many ads, but she has shown a keen interest in being the ambassador of Rajasthani...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This