The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: SAD fields Harsimrat Kaur from Bathinda, Sukhbir Singh Badal from Ferozepur in Punjab
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: SAD fields Harsimrat Kaur from Bathinda, Sukhbir Singh Badal from Ferozepur in Punjab

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) who has in a run-up to the general elections stitched an alliance with Bhartiya Janta party had on Tuesday announced the candidates on two Lok Sabha Seats allotted to it in a poll pact. The party has named its sitting MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal from Bathinda and Sukhbir Singh Badal from Ferozepur Lok Sabha Seat.

The announcement was made SAD Patron Prakash Singh Badal. With this, the party has now announced candidates on all 10 Lok Sabha seats allotted to it in a poll pact with Bharatiya Janata Party.

Harsimrat Kaur in a run-up to the mega polls will take on Congress Candidate Amarinder Singh Warring, AAP’s Baljinder Kaur and Punjab Democratic Alliance nominee Sukhpal Singh Khaira.

In 2014 National elections, Harsimrat Kaur Badal had won the seat with a slim margin of 20,000 votes by defeating INC’s Manpreet Singh Dhillon.

While Sukhbir Singh Badal from Ferozepur will be taking on Congress Sher Singh Ghubhaya, and AAP’s Harjinder Singh.

In 2014 national elections, Sher Singh Ghubhaya contesting on SAD ticket defeated INC Sunil Kumar Jakhar with over 30,000 votes.

The party in its initial list has named Bibi Jagir Kaur from Khadoor Sahib Lok Sabha Seat, Mahesh Inder Singh Grewal from Ludhiana, Gulrez Singh Ranike from Faridkot among Others. SAD partner BJP has named Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar, while yet to announce its nominee for Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur – allotted to it.

BJP-SAD combine will take on Congress, Punjab Democratic Alliance comprising seven parties including one floated by Sukhpal Singh Khaira. While AAP has also named its candidates on more than 8 Lok Sabha Seats in the state.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP-SAD combine won 6 Lok Sabha Seats with BJP emerged victorious on 2 seats while SAD on 4. Congress who suffered major setback across the nation managed to win 3 Lok Sabha Seats in Punjab while debutant Aam Aadmi Party bagged 4 Lok Sabha Seats.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. General Elections have already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Punjab for its 13 Parliamentary seats will poll in a single phase on May 19 four days ahead of counting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon