Samajwadi Party to contest alone in 2022 Uttar Pradesh polls : Chief Akhilesh Yadav

akhilesh yadav

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav has finally confirmed the journey of his party in the upcoming assembly polls of Uttar Pradesh legislature. Uttar Pradesh assembly will go for polls in 2022. Akhilesh Yadav said that Samajwadi Party will contest alone in the elections.

The announcement comes a few months after the break-up of “Mahagathbandhan” in the state. In Lok Sabha elections of 2019, two political giants in the state, Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav had joined hands to take on the opposition parties. But the alliance failed to secure power in the state. Even though Bahujan Samaj Party went from securing 0 seats in 2014 Lok Sabha elections to gaining almost 10 seats in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Mayawati decided to snap off its ties from the ‘Mahagathbandhan‘.

The announcement from Akhilesh Yadav came on Monday while addressing a press briefing in Lucknow. On being asked about BSP, the leader denied commenting on the matter.  Previously Akhilesh Yadav had dissolved all the executives of party’s state, district, and youth wing. The party, however, retained Naresh Uttam on the post of state president.

It has also been reported that on August 23, Akhilesh Yadav had a meeting with Om Prakash Rajbhar (Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party leader). He is said to be the former ally of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The meeting can be seen as a crucial event in state politics hinting at the fact that Samajwadi Party might be coming closer to other regional parties. Even Akhilesh Yadav has said, “Our experience with big parties is not hidden from anyone, hence we might be looking for some tie-ups with small parties.”

The leader also said that the common people of the state are now fed up of the Bhartiya Janta Party government. Uttar Pradesh is also slated to go for by-polls in the coming time. Hamirpur seat will see its by-poll elections on September 23.

ALSO READ: Mayawati: During Akhilesh Yadav’s rule, injustice was done to non-Yadav and Dalits


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here