Another Setback for INLD ahead of Haryana Polls: MLA Ravinder Baliala, Former Minister Jagdish Yadav join BJP

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

In what can be seen as a fresh jolt to Haryana’s premier Jat political party, INLD, its legislator from Ratia Assembly Seat, Ravinder Baliala, on Thursday joined Bharatiya Janata Party. The development comes months before the state polls in the State.

Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) MLA Ravinder Baliala, along with former Minister Jagdish Yadav joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Chandigarh. Both the INLD leaders, Yadav and Baliala, were welcomed by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State Chief Subhash Barala.

Speaking to media, Manohar Lal Khattar said good and able people are also welcome in the party’s fold. While BJP State President took to twitter and welcomed both the INLD leaders in BJP.

Baliala represents the Ratia Assembly constituency of the state while Yadav was a minister in Bansi Lal-led government in the 1990s. Both the leaders said they have joined the saffron party ‘unconditionally’.

The switching of sides comes a day before the commencement of the Monsoon Session of the Haryana Assembly, which is expected to be the last before the Haryana State polls, slated for October-November later this year.

The switching of Ravinder Baliala was expected since June as he was holding talks with BJP leaders. It should be noted that Abhay Chautala’s INLD has been decimated after the breakaway of it after feud in Chautala family.

INLD had 11 members in the 90-members Assembly, however, 4 supports Jannayaka Janata Party (JJP), a breakaway faction of INLD. While 6 MLAs have already tendered their resignation. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has 47 MLAs, while Congress has 17 legislators.

5 legislators are independent, while Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has one each.

While earlier in June post-poll verdict, two of the sitting INLD MLAs – Zakir Hussain from Nuh Assembly Seat and Parminder Singh Dhull from Julana Assembly Seat – joined Bharatiya Janata Party in presence of Chief Minister, Manohar Lal Khattar and state BJP chief Subhash Barala.

In the national polls held early this year, Haryana’s premier Jat Party, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) faced a humiliating defeat and lost all 10 contested seats. It only secured 1.89% vote from the state. Bharatiya Janata Party banking on Modi undercurrent again swept the polls by bagging all 10 Lok Sabha Seats of the State.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

AIIMS-Delhi donates Rs 93.89 lakh to Odisha

New Delhi, Sep 18 (IANS) All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Delhi on Wednesday donated Rs 93.89 lakh...

Does BJP gets funding from spas in Delhi? DCW chief

New Delhi, Sep 18 (IANS) After raiding a number of spa centres in Delhi, Chairperson of the Delhi Commission for Women on Wednesday asked...

Delhi Sahitya Kala Parishad to get new cultural centre

New Delhi, Sep 18 (IANS) Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia on Wednesday approved the construction of a new cultural complex for Sahitya Kala...

Tripura Congress Chief threatens to quit

New Delhi, Sep 18 (IANS) Upset over "interference" by AICC General Secretary In-Charge North East Luizinho Faleiro, party general secretary Pradyot Deb Barman has...

Akshay Kumar takes a ride on Mumbai Metro

Mumbai, Sep 18 (IANS) Akshay Kumar has shared a video on social media to tell fans about how he got stuck...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This