Din over Cauvery continues: Venkaiah Naidu orders AIADMK, DMK MPs to leave Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday ordered members of AIADMK and DMK to leave the House for the day after they continued to protest in the Well over the Cauvery issue.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Naidu invoke Rule 255, asking over a dozen members of both parties – AIADMK and DMK – from Tamil Nadu to leave the House for the day.

Rule 255 provides that the Rajya Sabha Chairman may direct any member whose conduct, in his opinion, is grossly disorderly to withdraw immediately from the council. Rule 255 further says “Any member so ordered to withdraw shall do so forthwith and shall absent himself during the reminder of the day’s meeting”.

M Venakaiah Naidu taken the move after the 12 MPs from AIADMK and DMK continued to remain in the well of the House protesting the proposed Mekadatu dam on the Cauvery River despite many warnings.

Harivansh Narayan Singh said, “In this situation, the House is adjourned till 3 PM.” However, Before adjourning the House, Chairman Naidu asked the AIADMK and DMK members to leave for the day.

As the House reassembled again at 3PM, DMK and AIADMK Members again jumped into the well and started shouting slogans. “I am left with no other other alternatives than to adjourn the House for the day”, the Deputy Chairman said.

The proceedings in the upper House had to be adjourned for twice in the day amid ruckus over the Cauvery Issue and finally for the day, minutes after it reassembled at 3 PM.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Vijay Goel also requested the members from Tamil Nadu – AIADMK and TDP to allow the Water Resources Minister Nitin Gadkari to deliver his statement on the issue.

Chairman Naidu also said the minister had been called to the House to deliver a statement following the Tamil Nadu members’ request and now he should be allowed to do so. However, the Tamil Nadu continued their protest in the Well, with four DMK members also joining to associate with them.

Last Week, Venkaiah Naidu expresses displeasure over regular adjournments of Rajya Sabha Sessions

In the Lower House of Parliament, Lok Sabha, Twenty-six MPs belonging to AIADMK and TDP on Wednesday were suspended for five days by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan for causing a regular ruckus in the House by storming near the podium, tearing papers and throwing them towards the Chair.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here