The Indian Wire » Politics » BJP releases second list of 22 candidates for Odisha State Polls
News Politics

BJP releases second list of 22 candidates for Odisha State Polls

Gearing up to unseat Odisha CM Naveen PatnaikBhartiya Janta Party on Friday released the second list of 22 candidates for the state polls of Odisha that slated to clubbed with General Elections. The State has a total of 147 State Assembly while having 21 Lok Sabha Seats.  Currently, BJD has 117 lawmakers in the state assembly.

The Odisha State Polls will be clubbed with the General Elections 2019. The State will Poll on the first phase of Voting, April 11. Earlier the Bhartiya Janta Party in its first list declared candidates on 100 Assembly Seats. The Names of all candidates were finalized by the  Central Election Committee.

READ: BJP releases names of 100 Candidates for Odisha State Polls

The Second list of candidates include:

  1. Irasis Acharya from Bhatli
  2. Shri Subash Panigrahi from Deogarh
  3. Shri Raghunath Jagdala from Birmaharajpur (SC)
  4. Shri Ashok Pujari from Sonepur
  5. Shri Ananta Das from Bolangir
  6. Shri Homsingh Majhi from Nuapada
  7. Shri Parshuram Majhi from Jharigam (ST)
  8. Shri Padman Nayak from Dabugam (ST)
  9. Shri Pradeep Nayak from Bhawanipatna (SC)
  10. Shri Purn Chand Nayak from Daspalla ST
  11. Shri Ranjan Polai from Kabisuryangar
  12. Shri Prasant Kar from Chhatrapur (SC)
  13. Shri Debraj Mohanty from Aska
  14. Shri Nilamani Bisoi from Surada
  15. Shri Kanhu Pati from Berhampur
  16. Smt. Pinky Pradhan from Digapahandi
  17. Shri Prashant Mallik from Mohana (ST)
  18. Shri Shisir Gomang from Gunupur (ST)
  19. Shri Basanta Ullaka from Rayagada (ST)
  20. Shrii Goutam Samnatray from Jeypore
  21. Tripura Garda from Koraput (SC)
  22. Padu Majhi from Chitrakonda (ST)

Apart from Candidates for Odisha State polls, BJP has also announced a candidate for a by-election to Selsella Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya. The party named Adorsho Sangma.

BJP in a run-up to the Polls in Odisha will take on Naveen Patnaik’s BJD, and Congress who has stitched an alliance with Hemant Soren’s Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. Both Congress and BJD have started rolling out names of Candidates for Odisha State poll 2019.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!