Setback to BJP in Assam ahead of Polls: BJP Sitting MP Ram Prasad Sarmah quits Party

In a big blow to Bhartiya Janta Party in Assam ahead of polls, its Member of parliament Tezpur Ram Prasad Sarmah on Saturday announced his disassociation from the saffron party. Prasad who has been associated with BJP for 29 years alleged that he was ignored following the ‘new intruders in the party”.

Sarmah was also associated with RSS and VHP for almost 15 years. His exit came days after his name was missing in the party’s panel of a probable candidate from the Tezpur Parliament Lok Sabha seat for the coming mega battle of Ballots. It is expected that his name will be replaced by Assam minister and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma.

His candidature for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls was at stake ever since his daughter was arrested in connection with the APSC job scam.

The final list of probable candidates for all 14 Lok Sabha seats have been sent to Delhi high Command. It is expected that the names of all the candidates will be announced soon.

Sarmah was elected to the parliament for the first time in 2014. He took to social Networking site Facebook to announce his disassociation. He wrote ‘I have left BJP today. But I really feel pained in my heart for those old BJP workers of Assam who were most neglected in the Party by the new intruders in the Party’.

While alleging of being ignored and ill-treated MP from Tezpur said, ‘I was strongly raising my voice on their behalf. Now there will be none to raise voice for them. It’s old guards of the Party who tioling for decades brought BJP to power without any other support. But now they are most neglected and ill-treated’

‘Love you my dear friends. I will be still with you. Thank you for your help and support and support and love for me’ He said while thanking the people of the Constituency.

BJP is expected to announce the names of all candidates of Assam soon while Congress in its third list released five candidates for Assam. The Grand Year Old party named:

  1. Swarup Das from Karimganj (SC) Lok Sabha Seat
  2. Sushmita Dev from Silchar Lok Sabha Seat
  3. Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor Lok Sabha Seat
  4. Sushant Borgohain from Jorhat Lok Sabha Seat
  5. Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh Lok Sabha Seat

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday, March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Polling to all 14 seats of Assam will be held in three phases: April 11, April 18 and April 23.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here