CEC Sunil Arora announces dates for by-poll in 18 states; 63 assembly seats and 1 Lok Sabha seat in Bihar will go to polls

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Saurabh Parmar
Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development). A Writer by Profession. Administration Enthusiast by Passion. Altruist by Heart. That's enough about Me!

In today’s announcement by Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora, the dates for upcoming by-polls were announced. By-polls for 64 seats is to be held on October 21 alongside the assembly elections of Maharashtra and Haryana. The counting of votes will take place on October 24.

By-polls are slated for 63 assembly seats and 1 Lok Sabha seat which are distributed over 18 states. States that will see the by-poll elections are-

  1. Arunachal Pradesh
  2. Bihar
  3. Chhattisgarh
  4. Assam
  5. Gujarat
  6. Himachal Pradesh
  7. Karnataka
  8. Kerala
  9. Madhya Pradesh
  10. Meghalaya
  11. Odisha
  12. Puducherry
  13. Punjab
  14. Rajasthan
  15. Sikkim
  16. Tamil Nadu
  17. Telangana
  18. Uttar Pradesh

While announcing the dates, CEC Sunil Arora urged all the stakeholders to cooperate in the process. The seat distribution of by-polls varies as- Arunachal Pradesh (1), Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (1), Gujarat (4), Himachal Pradesh (2), Karnataka (15), Kerala (5), Madhya Pradesh (1), Meghalaya (1), Odisha (1), Puducherry (1), Punjab (4), Rajasthan (2), Sikkim (3), Tamil Nadu (2), Telangana (1) and Uttar Pradesh (11).

Karnataka by-polls have been necessitated by the disqualification of 15 legislators from HD Kumaraswamy government. Former Speaker of Karnataka legislative assembly, KR Ramesh Kumar had disqualified 17 legislators of the CongressJD(s) coalition under anti-defection law stated in 10th schedule

The last date for filing the nomination for bypolls is September 30. To withdraw one’s name from the nomination papers, the last date is October 3.

Sunil Arora also said that since the election campaigns carry huge environmental costs, political parties should use environment-friendly products.

The detailed announcement for Haryana and Maharashtra polls were also announced in today’s meeting. To know more about it, click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Army man Saikhom wins Goa Ironman 70.3 triathlon

Panaji, Oct 20 (IANS) Indian Army Hawaldar...

Marquez claims 10th 2019 MotoGP win in Japan

Motegi (Japan), Oct 20 (IANS) Marc Marquez of the Repsol Honda Team on Sunday grabbed his 10th MotoGP victory this season at the Twin...

Muslims make submission on moulding of relief in Ayodhya case

New Delhi, Oct 20 (IANS) Following uproar, the Muslim side has made public their written submissions regarding moulding of relief, in the Ram Janambhoomi...

Sadhvi Prachi claims threat to life, demands security

Haridwar (Uttarakhand), Oct 20 (IANS) Firebrand Hindu leader Sadhvi Prachi, after the murder of Hindu leader Kamlesh Tiwari in Lucknow, has said that she...

Continuous market downtrend looks to be a thing of the past (Column: Market Watch)

BY ARUN KEJRIWALIt was a great week for the bourses as markets gained on each of the five trading days last week. BSESENSEX gained...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This