Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Full list of Candidates Announced by DMK-Congress Alliance in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry

DMK who has inked an alliance with Congress and other small parties in Tamil Nadu for the General Elections already released its list of 20 Candidates in Tamil Nadu. DMK who has kept a lion share of 20 seats fielded Kanimozhi from Tuticorin Parliamentary seat. This will be her first time in the electoral politics, M Kanimozhi, Daughter of DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi had in past been a Rajya Sabha Member.

Apart from DMK, its other alliance partner in a run-up to the mega battle of ballots have also announced candidates on all 40 seats, 39 Parliamentary Seats of Tamil Nadu and a lone seat of Puducherry.

Apart from Congress, DMK has finalized terms with 6 parties comprising – left parties like CPI(M)CPI, and MDMK, VCK, IUML, KMDK and IJK.

As per the poll pact, the Rahul Gandhi led party has been offered nine seats in the state, and a single seat of Puducherry. While DMK has decided to field its candidates on 20 Lok Sabha seats. The DMK has allotted one seat each to the MDMK, IJK, IUML and the KMDK. It has also allotted the MDMK one Rajya Sabha seat, the election for which is scheduled for June.

Here is the list of All Candidates named by DMK and Congress Alliance in all 40 Parliamentary Seat

  1. S Jagathrakshakan (DMK) from Arakkonam Seat: Three-Time Former Parliamentarian, lost to AIADMK Candidate in 2014 General Elections. Served as Union Minister of State in UPA-II Government.

2. Dr. MK Vishnu Prasad (Congress) from Arani Seat: Current Working President of the State Unit of the party.

3. Dayanidhi Maran (DMK) from Chennai Central – Two time MP From the Same Seat, lost in 2014 Polls. He has served as Union Minister handling different Portfolios under UPA-I and UPA-II.
4. Arcot Kalanidhi (DMK) from Chennai North: Chief of Party’s Medical wing, and a doctor by Profession. He is the son of former State Minister Arcot Veerasamy.
5. Thamizhachi Thangapandian (DMK) from Chennai North: First Time in the electoral fray, poet and dancer by profession.
6. Thol Thirumalavan (VCK) from Chidambaram (SC) – Third Time in Electoral Race, lost in 2014 while got the first success in his first election in 2009. Chief of VCK.
7. PR Natrajan (CPIM) from Coimbatore: Won in 2009 Lok Sabha Polls, while shifted to fifth position in 2014.
8. TRPS Ramesh (DMK) from Cuddalore

9. S Senthil Kumar (DMK) from Dharmapuri: Doctor by Profession

10. P Velusamy (DMK) from Dindigul Seat

11. A Ganeshamurthi (MDMK) from Erode: Two Time MP, won his first election in 1998

12. Gautama Sigamani (DMK) from Kallakurichi: He is the son of former State Minister Ponmudi. First time in the electoral fray.

13. G Selvam (DMK) from Kancheepuram(SC): Lost to AIADMK Candidate in 2014 General Elections.

14. H Vasanthakumar (Congress) from Kanyakumari: A two-time MLA and currently represents Nanguneri constituency of Tirunelveli district. Lost to Pon Radhakrishnan in 2014. He is also the uncle of BJP state President and Thoothukudi candidate Tamilisai Soundararajan.

15. Jothimani (Congress) from Karur: She lost 2014 national elections and 2011 state elections. She will take on Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha and AIADMK’s Thambidurai.

16. Dr A Chellakumar (Congress) from Krishnagiri: Two Time Legislator, unsuccessfully contested 2014 General Elections.

17. S Venkatesan (CPI (M)) from Madurai: Making a political debut this time. A Sahitya Akademi awardee.

18. S Ramalingam (DMK) from Mayiladuthurai: Four-time legislator from  Thiruvidaimurudhur constituency

19. M Selvarasu (CPI) from Nagapattinam(SC): Three-time MP from the same seat, had won in 1989, 1996 and 1998.

20. AKP Chinnaraj (Kongunadu Makkal Desiya Katchi) from Namakkal: Will be contesting the mega battle on DMK’s rising sun symbol, and has been a member of the KMDK for the past ten years.

21. A Raja (DMK) from Nilgiris (SC): Former Union Minister A Raja is a four-time MP, having won from Perambalur three times before moving to Nilgiris Parliamentary Constituency in 2009. He, however, lost to the AIADMK in 2014 General Elections.

22. TR Pachamuthu (Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi) from Perambalur: Chief of the party IJK, was with BJP Alliance in 2014 however swap it to join DMK Congress ahead of the mega battle of ballots.

23. K Shanmugasundaram (DMK) from Pollachi seat: Unsuccessfully Contested mega polls in 2014 against AIADMK Candidate.

24. K Navas Kani (IUML) from Ramanathapuram: Leader of Indian Union Muslim League.

25. SR Parthiban (DMK) from Salem: Former Legislator from Mettur Seat. He joined DMK in 2016 after quitting DMDK.

26. Karti Chidambaram (Congress) from Sivaganga – Son of senior Congress leader and former union minister P Chidambaram. He had unsuccessfully contested the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, losing to the AIADMK.

27. TR Baalu (DMK) from Sriperumbudur Seat: A five-time MP and a former union minister from the DMK.

28. Dhanush M Kumar (DMK) from Tenkasi (SC): Son of former Rajapalayam MLA Dhanushkodi, a lawyer by profession.

29. SS Palanimanickam (DMK) from Thanjavur Seat: District secretary of the DMK in Thanjavur and a five-time Parliamentarian.

30. EVKS Elangovan (Congress) from Theni: Former Union Minister In UPA-I rule. Lost Polls in 2009 to MDMK’s Candidate.

31.  K Jayakumar (Congress) from Thiruvallur (SC): Congress Working President K Jayakumar will contest from the Thiruvallur Lok Sabha constituency as a part of the DMK alliance.

32. Kanimozhi (DMK) from Thoothukudi: Daugther of Late DMK Patriarch and Former CM Karunanidhi, Rajya Sabha MP and the first time in the electoral race.

33. Thirunnavukkarasar (Congress) from Tiruchirapalli: Former union minister and ex-President of the Tamil Nadu Congress Committee. He had unsuccessfully contested 2009 Lok Sabha Polls.

34. S Ganathiraviam (DMK) from Tirunelveli 

35. K Subbaraiyan (CPI) from Tiruppur: Former MP and two-time legislator. Won 2004 Elections from Coimbatore Seat.

36. CN Annadurai (DMK) from Tiruvannamalai – He had in 2014 lost to AIADMK’s R Vanaroja.

37. Kadir Anand (DMK) from Vellore – He is the son of former state Law Minister Durai Murugan and current DMK Treasurer.

38. D Ravikumar from Villupuram(SC): writer and VCK general secretary, former MLA.

39. Manickam Tagore (Congress) from Virudhunagar: The Congress Secretary for Karnataka, won in 2009.

40. V Vaithilingam (Congress) from Puducherry (Union Territory): Former two-time Chief Minister and former Speaker of Puducherry Legislative Assembly.

The DMK led alliance will take on the ruling AIADMK alliance of which BJP is a part.

Tamil Nadu has total 39 Lok Sabha Seats while Puducherry has a single Lok Sabha seat.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Tamil Nadu will vote to April 18 for Lok Sabha as well as on 18 by-elections seats



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here