The Indian Wire » Politics » Odisha State Polls 2019: Congress replaces Candidate from Hinjili Assembly Seat; releases another list
News Politics

Odisha State Polls 2019: Congress replaces Candidate from Hinjili Assembly Seat; releases another list

Gearing up to unseat Odisha CM Naveen PatnaikIndian National Congress on Monday released the third list of 4 candidates for the state polls of Odisha that slated to clubbed with General Elections. Earlier the party in its initial two lists announced candidates on 90 Assembly seats, with 36 on first and 54 on the second list.

READ: Congress releases first list of 36 Candidates for Odisha State Polls; Ram Krishna Panda to take on Naveen Patnaik

Congress in its third list of Candidates replaced Muktikant Biswas with Biren Senapati from Rourkela Assembly Seats. Other names are:

  1. Biren Senapati (In place of Muktikant Biswas) from Rourkela
  2. Ramesh Purohit from Patnagarh
  3. Shyamghan Prasad from G Udaygiri ST
  4. Shambhunath Panigrahi (In place of Ram Krishna Panda) from Hijili

READ: Check Out Full List of BJP Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Congress in a run-up the Odisha State Polls has stitched an alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and will take on Naveen Patnaik’s BJD and aggressive Bhartiya Janta Party.

Both BJP and BJD have also started rolling out lists of Candidates for the state Polls.

The Odisha State Polls will be clubbed with the General Elections 2019. The State will Poll on the four rounds of Polling starting from April 11. The State has a total of 147 State Assembly while having 21 Lok Sabha Seats. Currently, BJD has 117 lawmakers in the state assembly.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

The Counting of votes for the mega battle of ballots and the State Polls will take place on May 23, four days after last round of polling.

In 2014 General Elections, BJD totally swept the state by bagging 20 seats out of 21 seats while banking on ‘Modi Wave’ the saffron party could only manage to get 1 Lok Sabha Seat in the state.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!


Shop on Amazon