The Indian Wire » Education » SSC CHSL 2019: Online Application Process begins today at official website, check details here

SSC CHSL 2019: Online Application Process begins today at official website, check details here

The Application Process for the Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) Exam, conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) has begun today and will continue to last till April 5, 2019. The SSC has issued a formal notification stating the commencement of intermediate level examination conducted for recruitments in central government departments. The Applications have been released at the official website, for which the link has been provided below:


The Exam will be entirely computer-based which will be conducted in two Tiers namely Tier 1 which will commence from July 1, 2019, and will continue to last till July 26, 2019; and Tier 2 which will be held on September 29, 2019.

“The Staff Selection Commission will hold a competitive examination for recruitment to the posts of Lower Divisional Clerk/ Junior Secretariat Assistant, Postal Assistant/ Sorting Assistant and Data Entry Operators for various Ministries/ Departments/ Offices of the Government of India,” the SSC notification reads.

Steps to apply for the SSC CHSL 2019 are as follows:

Step 1: Visit the official website

Step 2: When the homepage arrives, click on the link that says ‘Login’

Step 3: Click on the link ‘New User’ and enter the required details for logging in further. Fill the Application form with requisite details including personal details, photograph, and signature.

Step 4: After your registration ID gets created, Click on the link that says ‘Apply Online’ and then Click on CHSL and Apply for the same.

Step 5: Fill in the required details to apply for the exam.

Step 6: Pay the application fee and submit, and print out a copy of your payment confirmation

Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), Persons with Disabilities (PWD) and Ex-servicemen (ESM) category students are exempted from paying the application fees.

The vacant posts for which the exam is scheduled to be conducted are Data Entry Operator, Postal Assistant/ Sorting Assistant, lower division clerk etc. in central government departments.

For being eligible to apply for the exam, the candidate must be between the age of 18-27. The candidate must hold a high-school graduate degree for applying to LDC/ JSA, PA/ SA, DEO (except DEOs in C&AG), whereas for applying to Data Entry Operator (DEO) in the Office of Comptroller and Auditor General of India (C&AG), the candidate must hold high-school graduate degree in science stream.

The Commission conducts three levels of the examination, first is the computer-based, second is the descriptive paper in pen and paper mode, the third involves skill test or typing.

The Tier 1 Exam pattern involves objective type questions to be conducted through online mode. The questions would cover topics including General Intelligence and Reasoning, English Comprehension, Quantitative Aptitude, and General Awareness.

Paper 1 consists of 100 questions for 200 marks to be answered in 1 hour. The candidates will be required to answer 25 questions holding 50 marks covering topics like general intelligence, general awareness, English language (basic knowledge) and quantitative aptitude (basic arithmetic skill).

Every wrong answer deducts 0.50 mark.

The Tier 2 Exam Pattern involves descriptive questions where the writing skills of the candidate are tested. It includes letter writing and essay writing. It will be conducted in pen and paper mode, for questions to be answered in 80 minutes.

Tier 3 consists of testing writing skills, conducted for those who qualify Tier 1 and 2 exams.



Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!