Mayawati’s BSP appoints Munquad Ali UP State President in a major reshuffle

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Saurabh Parmar
Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development). A Writer by Profession. Administration Enthusiast by Passion. Altruist by Heart. That's enough about Me!

In a major overhaul of the Uttar Pradesh unit of Bahujan samaj party, Mayawati‘s party selected leaders for different posts on Wednesday. Munquad Ali was appointed as state unit’s President. The party is said to be following its ideology of “sarvajan hitaaye, sarvajan sukhaye”.

The timing of the reshuffling comes at an important juncture when there are only a few days left for the upcoming by-poll elections for 12 assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh.

Earlier leader to hold the post of party president in state’s unit was RS Kushwaha. Kushwaha was selected for the post in May 2018. In 2019 elections, he lost the seat from Salempur to BJP’s Ravindra Kushwaha. The outgoing RS Kushwaha will now honor the post of General Secretary of BSP’s central unit.

On Wednesday, BSP replaced him by the former Rajya Sabha member, Munquad Ali who is an OBC (Other Backward Classes) leader. The party released a press note confirming the new appointments. The press note issued said that the move was done for ensuring “balance among all the sections of society”.

Another leader Danish Ali, elected from Amroha was removed from his post of party leader in Lok Sabha for promoting the representation of OBC. Danish Ali served the Janata Dal (Secular) for a long time before joining BSP. He was replaced by Jaunpur MP Shyam Singh Yadav, who happens to be a retired IAS officer and a first-time MP.

Ambedkar Nagar MP Ritesh Pandey has been made the deputy leader in the house.

The press note issued though retained one major post of the party, which is the office of Chief Whip of the party in the Lower house. Girish Chandra Jatav holds this post and will continue to do so.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Anti-CAB protests: Vehicles torched, curfew imposed, Internet suspended in Assam

Assam is on the edge as massive protests continue against Citizenship Amendment bill (CAB). Slogans raised, anti-CAB banners were...

Do not panic, work to replace snagging P&W engine in aircraft is on: DGCA

"Air travelers need not panic on account of the recent incidents wherein aircraft with Pratt & Whitney (P&W) engines had to turn back mid...

RBI’s flexible inflation targeting regime to be reviewed after March 2021

This strategy is used by the Central bank to maintain the price level within a certain range.

Harvey Weinstein to undergo back surgery this week due to car crash

Former Hollywood producer Harvey Weinstein will be undergoing back surgery this week after he had suffered injuries in a car crash in August, according...

‘Dabangg 3’ villain Kichcha Sudeepa wants to cast John Abraham in his next directorial film

Kannada superstar Kichcha Sudeepa, who will soon be seen as the main antagonist in Salman Khan starrer Dabangg 3, wants to cast actor John...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This